Saluting Extraordinary Faculty and Students

Since 1999, the DAISY Award recognition program has honored nurses and nursing students for the above-and-beyond work they do in the classroom, in the health care facility and at the bedside. LSU Health School of Nursing remains well represented in the recognition program.

White daisy on a green background.

DAISY faculty and student award nominees and winners at the LSU Health New Orleans School of Nursing are usually announced during National Nurses Week in May. Due to disruptions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, virtual awards ceremonies in August honored six faculty and six student DAISY Award recipients and recognized the accomplishments of all 21 faculty nominees and 12 student nominees.

DAISY stands for Diseases Attacking the Immune System. The DAISY Foundation was established in 1999 by the family of Patrick Barnes, who passed away at the age of 33 from complications of idiopathic thrombocytopenic purpura. As a result of their experience, the Barnes family believes that nurses are unsung heroes of our society who deserve far more recognition and honor than they receive. To date, the Foundation has recognized more than 120,000 nurses for their extraordinary care. Faculty DAISY Award recipients are nurses whose expertise and excellence are demonstrated in their role as teachers of students in nursing schools. Honorees are nominated by their students, peers, school administrators and clinical staff in hospitals where faculty have students.

This year’s faculty winners at the School of Nursing were:

  • Kryshonda Alleyne, MN, APRN, FNP-C
  • Colette Baudoin, MSN, RN, OCN
  • Jenelle Jacobs, DNP, RN, CNE, ACM, CMSRN
  • Linda Ledet, DNS, APRN, PMHCNS-BC
  • Aimme McCauley, DNP, RN
  • Nicole Thomas, DNP, RN

The Foundation also awarded the following students the DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nursing Students, which recognizes and celebrates nursing students for providing above-and-beyond care and compassion to patients and their families:

  • Zoe Alexander
  • Juliana Kuntz
  • Kaylen Poleto
  • Kristina Rigterink
  • Kayla Tanner
  • Mary Cappie Tavary

DAISY Award Logo, showing a white daisy on a green background

Recommended Articles